DON'T MAKE ME LAUGH... BITTERLY.

I started my new Douglas Coupland novel today. It's called The Gum Thief, and it's, as always with this particular author, brilliant. I've read half of it now, and I've got to say it's very different from his other works that I've read (i.e. JPod x'D).

It's about two people, Roger and Bethany. They're pretty much polar opposites. Roger is a middle-aged divorced bitter man, and Bethany is a 24 year old girl just coming out of her goth-phase. They only have one single thing in common; they both work at the hell called Staples (for those of you who aren't that informed about American mass-industries, it's a chain of stores that sell office supplies). They're both pretty bitter and cynical, having somehow gotten used to the fact that they're doomed to "restocking reams of paper and shelving post-it notes" for the rest of their lives, but just because they're used to it doesn't mean they have to like it.

Bethany one day finds Rogers journal in the employees lounge and finds out that he's written entries in it as her. She's, naturally, a bit freaked out, but instead of reaming him out, she writes him back in the journal. They start this weird correspondence through the journal, writing each other all the time but never acknowledging the others existence outside of it.

It's a very amusing, in a bitter, cynical sort of way. It's completely different from JPod, but I don't think that's a bad thing. Although, I must say, it's a bit slow at times. I'll wait and see whether or not I'd recommend it once I've finished it all.

---

I was all on my owny today. My brother is at my grandparents summer house, my mom was out with a friend all night, and my dad was working night. I fucking love being on my own. I spent the entire evning listening to my own music for a change, dancing around, eating pizza, stuffing my face with all kinds of snacky goodness, and watching Queer as Folk on the big screen TV with the surround-sound system in the basement.

Sweet.

My family needs to have actual lives more often.

--

'Til next time,

Toodles.

Comments
Postat av: Cat

That book sounds really interesting, actually.

Do want.

2008-06-15 @ 02:57:00

Comment ranting here:

Name:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-mail: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0