ANOTHER GAY MOVIE

I've been watching a lot of gay movies as of late.

Why?

Because I'm a movie buff, and I feel like I've seen a million movies from practically every genre known to man, and I thought it was time to go in a new direction.

Besides, watching cute boys who like to kiss each other isn't exactly a hardship, ya know. -insert dirty smirk here-

At least gay movies brings something new into the equation. The fact that it's gay automatically makes it different. Different problems, different storylines etc. And I felt that I wanted something different.

The title of this entry is also a title of a gay movie, by the way. It's like the gay version of American Pie. I didn't like it a lot; it had it's moments, but not my favorite.

So, lacking more interesting things to do, I thought I'd write a little about the movies I've been watching. I'm just like, why the hell not? It's my blog, so I can write whatever I want ^_____^

Here goes.

---

Latter Days
A fairly decent movie. Not insanely good, but definitely all right. The characters are a bit shallow and stereotypical, but they work. The story is sweet; closeted gay mormon boy meets out&proud slutty boy and they fall in love. Basically. Of course there is more to it than that, but that's the gist of it, anyway. The acting is decent, but the guy playing the lead (mormon dude) is actually really good. He really brought the whole movie up a step. Fairly graphic sex scene, but nowhere near Queer as Folk standard. Overall, I liked it.

Get Real
British coming out story. This one was actually pretty good. I thought it was depressing, but if you're into that sort of thing then the movie works. The acting is good, the writing is good, the story is good. Closeted gay teen falls for the school heart throb, who of course turns out to be a in-denial homosexual. They start an affair, but things get rough between them when the in-denial one becomes more and more paranoid that someone will find out. It's very sweet, very real, but with a depressing ending. Still, good movie.

Beautiful Thing
Another British movie (they seem quite good at this genre, actually). Two neighbors who both are fighting demons in their lives (for one, it's bullies in school, for the other, it's his abusive father) find comfort in each other when they end up sleeping in the same bed. It's very sweet, very touching, sort of like Get Real but with a happier ending. The acting isn't at it's best and sometime the story gets a bit wierd, but it somehow works, anyway.


Shelter
Now this one, I really liked. Great acting, great story, great characters. Just great, basically. One seemingly heterosexual boy in his early twenties cope with the trouble at home by surfing with his best friend's older brother, who recently came into town. They get drunk one night and share a kiss. Hetero-boy freaks but can't resist the attraction he feels, and they end up as lovers. Things get complicated when hetero-boy's selfish, no-good sister starts suspecting what's going on and lays on some heavy guilt on him, which leads him breaking the relationship off. But there is, of course, a happy ending. I actually loved the ending in this; it wasn't very realistic, really, but it was heart-felt, sweet, and romantic. I very much liked this one.

Trick
This one was... strange, but funny. Awkward gay boy (who is an aspiring musical-writer, btw) goes to a club/bar and sees a hot, sexy go-go boy. They meet again on the subway and decide to go back to musical-boy's apartment for a onenightstand. Only, things get in their way and they go one a crazy trip around town trying to find some place to be alone so they can fuck, basically. It's very funny in a surrealistic way, I laughed a lot. Just for that, I've decided that I liked it.


Bent
Now, I didn't actually watch this movie because I couldn't find it anywhere, but I did see one scene on youtube that was good enough for me to mention Bent here. The movie is about this gay guy who lived in Germany during the holocaust, and was captured by the nazi's. Now, like I said I didn't actually watch the movie so I may be somewhat wrong about the plotline, but this is how I understood it anyway. This guy made some kind of deal with the nazi's and had them mark him as a Jew instead of a homosexual, because it was worse to be gay than Jewish. While he's at a concentration camp he meets and falls in love with this other guy, who, unlike him, proudly wears his pink triangle. Now, the scene that I watched which compelled me to include this movie here was the two of them, standing in the middle of a courtyard, unable to touch or even look at each other, and yet they manage to bring each other to orgasm. The scene is incredibly intense. Really well acted and written. I was just very impressed. Although I'm not entirely sure I actually want to watch the movie since I've come to understand that it has a sad ending, and that would just make me depressed. I shall see.

All Over the Guy
This one was... I don't know. I can't decide whether I liked it or not. It's about this guy and this girl, who meet and fall in love. They both have a gay best friend each, and decide to set them up with each other. So the two gay friends go on a blind date, which is a complete disaster. Only, they soon meet again and discover than even though they have absolutely nothing in common, they can still be really great friends, and perhaps something more. Only, one of them has commitment issues (this happens in like ALL gay movies; one is always more into it than the other, who always has commitment issues) and continuously pushes the other away. And yet, it ends happily and in a sweet way. I don't know how I feel about it, really. It's wierd, I'm usually pretty opinionated about movies, but this one is hard to call. Whatever.

---

I'm now in the process of watching a few other movies (yes, I watch several different movies at the same time. Call me wierd). They are The Trip, Poster Boy, Eating Out (which sounds like a lesbo movie, but it's not), and the Edge of Seventeen. There are a few others I want to watch as well, I just haven't gotten around to it yet.

I don't know what genre I'll start watching once the gay thing is over with.

I seriously watch too many movies.

Toodles.

Comments
Postat av: Bea

alltså, du vill verkligen vara gaykille själv va? :D <3

2008-09-03 @ 12:44:34
URL: http://takai.blogg.se/
Postat av: Hamstur

Wooh, you'e seen a lot of gaymovies \o\ Some of 'em seems watchable too. Nice.

2008-09-03 @ 19:03:18
URL: http://inkthos.blogg.se/
Postat av: Emma

Hamstur: haha yeah, I've seen even more now x'D There were a lot more gay movies in the world than I thought :P

2008-09-03 @ 19:15:57
URL: http://facepalm.blogg.se/
Postat av: Louise

Loving Annabelle

Imagine Me & You

Lost and Delirious



Där är tre stycken female gay movies. Om du fortfarande är intresserad vill säga ^^

2008-09-04 @ 17:00:26
Postat av: Emma

Louise: Ahh, nice ^^ Kollar in det.

2008-09-04 @ 18:27:08
URL: http://facepalm.blogg.se/

Comment ranting here:

Name:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-mail: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0